Patricia Cleveland-Peck’s The Story of Tutankhamun follows King Tutankhamun from the moment he was born to his devastatingly untimely demise.

I first came across this book as it is a core text for my kiddies come September & I really wanted to make a start on familiarising myself with what my children in Year 4 will be going on to learn!

I found myself learning more about Egyptian life at the time of King Tut’s reign, facts I realised I had forgotten over time:

how young he was when he was made king

the mystery behind his death

the games he would play as a youngster

the art of hieroglyphics

the significance of artefacts

As a teacher, I want to use this book as a tool to inspire my teaching & to introduce my future class to life in Egypt way back when by immersing them in the sport King Tut was fond of & how Egyptian people would write their name using symbols as opposed to the alphabet we are used to using today, to name a few examples.

I hope that any fellow teachers – or perhaps even parents & anybody else who is interested in Egyptian history – will pick this book up & enjoy foraging for information that would not only pique the curiosity of young minds but anyone who is fascinated by the way in which some key parts of the world used to function.

Sincerely,

Sheeza

Leave a comment